Prof. Federico Rosei
University of Quebec, Canada

Plenary lecture
Multifunctional materials for solar technologies

Federico Rosei has held the Canada Research Chair (Tier II) in Nanostructured Organic and Inorganic Materials between 2003 and 2013. He is Professor and Director of Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, ¨¦nergie, Mat¨¦riaux et T¨¦l¨¦communications, Universit¨¦ du Qu¨¦bec, Varennes (QC) Canada.Since January 2014 he holds the UNESCO Chair in Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving and Storage and since May 2016 he also holds the Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Nanostructured Materials. He received MSc and PhD degrees from the University of Rome ¡°La Sapienza¡± in 1996 and 2001, respectively.

Dr. Rosei¡¯s research interests focus on the properties of nanostructured materials, and on how to control their size, shape, composition, stability and positioning when grown on suitable substrates. He has extensive experience in fabricating, processing and characterizing inorganic, organic and biocompatible nanomaterials. He has published over 230 articles in prestigious international journals (including Science, Nature Photonics, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Advanced Materials, AngewandteChemie Int. Ed., Journal of the American Chemical Society, Advanced Functional Materials, Nanoletters, ACS Nano, Biomaterials, Small, Physical Review Letters, Nanoscale, Chem. Comm., AppliedPhysics Letters, Physical Review B, etc.), has been invited to speak at over 240 international conferences and has given over 195 seminars and colloquia and 30 public lectures in 42 countries on all inhabited continents. His publications have been cited over 7400 times and his H index is 47.

He is Fellow of numerous prestigious national and international societies and academies, including: the Royal Society of Canada, the European Academy of Sciences, the World Academy of Arts and Science, the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, SPIE, the Canadian Academy of Engineering, ASM International, the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), the Institute of Physics, the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the Institute of Materials, Metallurgy and Mining, the Engineering Institute of Canada, the Australian Institute of Physics, Honorary Fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society, Senior Member of the IEEE, Member of the Global Young Academyand Member of the Sigma Xi Society.

He has received several awards and honours, including the FQRNT Strategic Professorship (2002¨C2007), the Tan Chin Tuan visiting Fellowship (NTU 2008), the Senior Gledden Visiting Fellowship (UWA 2009), Professor at Large at UWA (2010¨C2012), a Marie Curie Post-Doctoral Fellowship from the European Union (2001), a Canada Research Chair (2003¨C2013), a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award from the Alexander von Humboldt foundation (2011), the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry (Royal Society of Canada 2011), the Herzberg Medal (Canadian Association of Physics 2013), the Brian Ives lectureship award (ASM international / Canada Council 2013), the Award for Excellence in Materials Chemistry (Canadian Society for Chemistry 2014), the NSERC EWR Steacie Memorial Fellowship (2014), the Jos¨¦ Vasconcelos Award for Education (World Cultural Council 2014),the IEEE NTC Distinguished Lectureship 2015, the Lash Miller Award (Canada Section, Electrochemical Society 2015), the Chang Jiang Scholar Award (Government of China), the Khwarizmi International Award from the Iran Research Organization for Science and Technology (IROST), the Recognition for Excellence in Leadership from the American Vacuum Society, the Selby Fellowship from the Australian Academy of Sciences and the John C. Polanyi Award (Canadian Society for Chemistry 2016).


Some young Chinese Scholars are also invited to CICC-10 (see list)