The Fifth China International Conference on High-Performance Ceramics (CICC-5)

The Fifth China International Conference on High-Performance Ceramics (CICC-5), organized by College of Aerospace & Materials Engineering of National University of Defense Technology and State Key Laboratory of New Ceramics and Fine Processing (Tsinghua University), was held from May 10 to 14, 2007, at Vaya Hotel, Changsha.

921 scholars, come from Japan, Korea, USA, UK, Sweden, France, Russia, Switzerland, Germany, Italy, Poland, Belgium, Israel, Turkey, Brazil, Iran, Thailand, Slovenia, Malaysia, Philippines, Oman, Australia, Pakistan and China (including Taiwan), attended the Conference. 949 Presentations, including 4 plenary lectures, 77 invited talks, 123 regular oral presentations, were given at the Conference.

Since CICC-4, the Chinese Ceramic Society has set an Outstanding Contribution Award and gave to the scholars who have made significant contributions to the development of CICC series. The winners of this award are selected by the Conference Organizing Committee and announced at the Opening Ceremony of each CICC conference. Diring CICC-5, 5 scholars winer this award.

After the Conference, the Proceedings of CICC-5 was published as a special issue of Key Engineering Materials (Vols. 368 ~ 372), entitled "High-Performance Ceramics V", in 2008.

Plenary Lectures

  1. "Structure and composition of grain boundaries in ceramics at the atomic level" by Prof. M. Ruehle (Max-Planck Institut fur Metallforschung, Germany)
  2. Monitoring temperature and damage using luminescence" by Prof. D.R. Clarke(University of California at Santa Barbara, USA)
  3. "New ceramics development by compuer-aided design and processing" by Prof. Y. Miyamoto (Osaka University, Japan)
  4. "Composites with carbon-structures: filling interlayers and nano-tubes" by Prof. D. Gournis (Ioannina University, Greece)

Outstanding Contribution Award

  1. Prof. Yoshinari MIYAMOTO (Osaka University, Japan)
  2. Prof. Hong-Chae PARK (Pusan National University, Korea)
  3. Prof. Xiao-Wen ZHANG (Tsinghua University, China)
  4. Prof. Yan-Chun ZHOU (Shenyang Institute of Metal Research, China)
  5. Dr. Bin ZHU (KTH, Sweden)