The Eighth International Conference on High-Performance Ceramics (CICC-8)

From November 4 to 7, 2013, the Eighth International Conference on High-Performance Ceramics (CICC-8), was held at Chongqing Empark Grand Hotel, Chongqing, This Conference was organized by State Key Laboratory of New Ceramics and Fine Processing (Tsinghua University) and College of Materials Science and Engineering, Chongqing University.

624 scholars and students, come from USA, Germany, Japan, UK, France, Italy, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Poland, Denmark, Australia, Turkey, India, Iran and China (including Taiwan, Hong Kong), attended the Conference. More than 550 presentations, including 7 plenary lectures, 59 invited talks, 105 regular oral presentations, were given at the Conference.

The Proceedings of CICC-8 was published as a special issue of Key Engineering Materials (Vols. 602-603), entitled "High-Performance Ceramics VIII", in 2014 by TTP.

Plenary Lectures

  1. "Oxidation behavior of ultra-high temperature diboride-based ceramics" by Prof. W.G. Fahrenholtzn (Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA)
  2. "Mechanical and thermal properties of silicon nitride ceramics" by Dr. T. Ohji (AIST, Japan)
  3. "The MAX phases: ductile, machinable ternary carbides and nitrides for high temperature applications" by Prof. M.W. Barsoum (Drexel University, USA)
  4. "Understanding microstructural evolution in ceramics" by Prof. S.J.L. Kang (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)
  5. "Ceramic Membranes and systems for energy and environmental technology" by Dr. I. Voigt (Fraunhofer Institute of Ceramic Technology and systems, Germany)
  6. "Lead-free piezoceramics: from fundamentals to applications" by Prof. J. Rodel (Technische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany)
  7. "Recent progress on the development of high performance thermoelectric materials and devices" by Prof. L.D. Chen (Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, China)

Outstanding Contribution Award

  1. Prof. Dionizy Czekaj (University of  Silesia, Poland)
  2. Prof. Jea-Ho Jeon (Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea)
  3. Prof. Shinichi Kikkawa (Hokkaido University, Japan)
  4. Prof. Hong Lin (Tsinghua University, China)